Inspiration

This piece on a new book by Christina Crosby struck me as poignant, especially when I’m going through this slow process of teaching myself to be grateful for being me.

Paralysed after a cycling accident, Crosby ponders on the fact that she no longer has a gender; instead she has a wheel chair. What’s it like to create a new identity from scratch; to have little control over how you the world sees you?

Throughout this piece, I’m reminded of the meaning of inspiration; one that I Googled when at 23.30, I have yet to find my inspiration for the day. The meaning that resonated the most was – ‘the act of drawing in; specifically: the drawing of air into the lungs.’

By this definition alone, Crosby inspires.

Leave a Reply

